Ethical Labeling debate

Posted on May 25, 2012

0


I have a headache round about now, and it is only 11am. Could be cos of the coffee, waking up at 5am to tackle the rain and traffic – or, it could have been the 3 solid hours of debating the issue of ethical labelling; first, the one that aired on SAfm and secoundly, the unofficial heated discussions with both organisers and other attendees in the lobby (over too much Organic Rooibos and Fairtrade chocolate).

Although ‘For’ was voted a landslide win, I walk away a little less convinced. At the end of the day, it comes down to trust, and do I trust the certifying organisations any more than I do the businesses bent on marketing their products as ‘ethical’? The videos and claims may show smiley, happy workers, but what of behind the scenes? And while the sticky label may guarentee me  zero actual whipping went down, can I really rest assured that no boss threw even a single jab to undermine the poor dude who literally made the stuff I am currently nibbling?

Damn, I have so much white guilt that I should probably take up farming myself. Pity I killed my last basil plant.

Posted in: Uncategorized